Falling water House-Illumination

As mentioned in some of my previous posts this term I have a class called Construction and Installations, which is divided in two. For the second part of it, which is Lighting design I had a project that consisted in Illuminating a well known building, that somehow left it’s trace in the architectural history. This was interesting, because not only did I work on the illumination of a house, but I had to research some of the most significant buildings ever built, the architectures behind them and their work. My list was long but in the end I chose Falling water house, by Frank Lloyd Right. I read a lot about the history of the house and it’s specifics in constructing and I sure did learn one or two things about waffle slabs, reinforced concrete, t-profile columns, light structures and of course, my favourite, compression, tension and flexion.

This was a project in pairs and we had to use a completely new software, called DIAlux.

2015-04-15 14.27.24

2015-04-15 14.25.43

My partner and I decided to illuminate the waterfall and the base of the house, as it is the most impressive thing about it’s construction. We wanted to show the beautiful flow of water at night as well as during the day. The lighting of the waterfall provides additional security at night and also gives a feeling of spaciousness.

Screen Shot 2015-04-15 at 4.10.01 PM

As well as illumination the house, using the specific software we had to chose the right lights and calculate the light we wanted.

page

color 1 copy

The results were not magnificent, but I still learned a lot about lighting design.

Leave a Reply

